Play and pea pesto

IMG_2982

After doing a few jobs around the apartment we met up with Marji, Gray and Luke and Lora, Oliver and Maeve for an explore along the waterfront. On the way home we stopped off at Almondine to pick up a fresh baguette for lunch. The boys couldn’t wait so ended up eating a little bit, snuggled in their buggies watching out for various modes of transportation. In the afternoon I was lucky enough to have Grandma and Grandpa look after Rory whilst I did a little Spring cleaning – gosh we’ve accumulated a lot of stuff! I made a little progress with my wardrobe, inspired by this Goop post. Earlier Lora and I had been chatting about the importance of having quick, nutritious meals for our family suppers, as the children can get a little tired and cranky at this time of day. When we picked up our CSA this week, I was given a bag of pea shoots. Rory wouldn’t eat them raw out of the packet, but if I blend them (raw) with peas, pine nuts, garlic and mint, he will eat them as a healthy pesto with spaghetti – it’s cunning and brilliant. Plus it’s incredibly quick. As I write this it’s started to snow. Luckily the beautiful Spring tulips Grandma gave me are cheering me up!

Pea pesto

Note: I sort of made this recipe up so there are no real quantities, I just use what I have to hand and blend to taste.

1 bag of pea shoots (watercress also works well)

1/2 bag of frozen peas thawed

1/4 cup of roasted pine nuts

1 raw garlic clove crushed

a glug of olive oil

a pinch of salt

1 packet of fresh mint leaves

Put all of the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. I served this mixed into warm spaghetti with a little fresh French feta on the top.

IMG_2977

IMG_2979

IMG_2984

 

IMG_2994

 

IMG_2996

IMG_2988

Leave a Reply

